Board of Governors



The policy and general administration of the affairs and business of the Malta Arbitration Centre is entrusted to a Board of Governors, which Board shall consist of not less than three and not more than five members, appointed by the President of Malta acting on the advice of the Prime Minister.

Members are appointed for a six-year term and can be re-appointed.

In the exercise of their functions, they are not subject to the direction or control of any other person or authority.

A member may only be removed from the Board by the Prime Minister on the recommendation of the Commission for the Administration of Justice established under article 101A of the Constitution of Malta if such member is considered unfit to continue in office or has become incapable of properly performing his/her duties as member of the Board.

A person cannot be appointed Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson of the Board unless he/she has practised as an advocate in Malta for a period or periods amounting in the aggregate to not less than twelve years.

At present, the Board of Governors of the Centre is constituted as follows:

Paul Cachia, B.A. M.Jur. (Oxon)

M.Phil. (Oxon) LL.D.

Chairman

Anna Mallia, LL.D.

Deputy Chairperson

Chris Cilia, LL.D.

Member

Andrew Sciberras, LL.D. (Melit.)

Member

Fiona Galea Farrugia, LL.D.

Secretary to the Board/Registrar